Fleshgod Apocalypse- Veleno; Pure Majestic Compositions

FAdsuperSymphonic Death Metal purveyors, Fleshgod Apocalypse will release their newest assault via Nuclear Blast Records titled Veleno on May 24th, 2019. With this rendition to the majestic sounds of orchestras and melodic aggressive death metal, Fleshgod Apocalypse have constructed what will be known as the magnum opus for centuries to come in this genre of music and bands alike.

Veleno wraps up the previous work from Labyrinth, King and Oracles mashing furious riffs up with classical notes that create a musical maelstrom. The kick off track titled “Fury”, strikes with the meaning of the word itself perpetrating in various forms with raw metal notes. Sounds from the drums, bass guitar, lead and rhythm guitars all compose the staple in this symphonic death metal genre paving the way for future bands to learn from. Vocally, Francescco Paoli and Veronica Bordacchini deliver an exhilarating set of vocal cords, from high sopranos, to demonic growls as well as back-up vocals by Paolo Rossi.

This album is composed to inflict impact and make your brain comprehend the sounds of maestros, and fascinating theatrical scores that will soar to the skies and shine light on all that is dark. Majestic is too small of a word to describe the sounds on “Carnivorous Lamb”, it kicks off slow, then blows your mind with double pedals, brutal guitar work and sets you up for the single track titled “Sugar”, non-stop death metal assault. We will jump straight to another neck breaker, “Worship and Forget”, as you listen to that first note on this track, a ferocious speed on the drums and guitar riffs you know this will be a killer live track to witness. There is a quick chug on the guitars, leading to a detrimental section duo by the bass and drum work, setting the tempo to a godly like speed. There is a phenomenal piano section, which adds melody, as fast as the guitar riffs all melting into this destructive force created by Fleshgod Apocalypse.

The band is pushing the limits, not only are they delivering killer death metal, but their orchestrations created by Francesco Ferrini are not atmospheric, they are the entire mood on the album, the downward spiral melodies that will decapitate you as you head bang relentlessly. Each track has a backing sound, that which enforces the magnitude this band plays with, and that is the piano, with chorus on deck as well, Veronica delivers a phenomenal performance throughout the record. The track where Veronica excels is “The Day We’ll Be Gone”, a comedy in a song form. A comedy, depicting the tragedy of mankind, with beautiful symphonies, low vocals by Francesco Paoli, and Veronica inflicts emotion and anguish with this song. A soul touching track. Fleshgod Apocalypse have outdone their work in style, with majestic choruses, symphonies, death metal riffs and emotion that only they can elicit with such phenomenal album, Veleno.


By: Jose Barrientos

_Xkrdh44Veleno – Track Listing:
01. Fury
02. Carnivorous Lamb
03. Sugar
04. The Praying Mantis’ Strategy
05. Monnalisa
06. Worship and Forget
07. Absinthe
08. Pissing On The Score
09. The Day We’ll Be Gone
10. Embrace The Oblivion
11. Veleno
12. Reise, Reise (RAMMSTEIN Cover)
13. The Forsaking (Nocturnal Version)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s