SYK- Italian Based Prog Metal Shares A Brutal Tune

sykItaly-based progressive extreme metal collective SYK (pronounced “sick”) will release their sophomore full-length next month via Philip H. Anselmo’s own Housecore Records.
Led by the nihilistic vocal assault of Dalila Kayros, SYK singes ears with their weighty, grim, complex, noise-laden blend of apocalyptic-sounding savagery. Forged by Stefano Ferrian and Federico De Bernardi Di Valserra, both former members of the well-known long-running avant-grind monstrosity Psychofagist, the band released their debut Atoma via Czech imprint L’Inphantile Collective in 2014.
Following performances supporting the likes of Godflesh and Gigan, the band piqued the interest of Philip H. Anselmo’s Housecore Records. SYK‘s impending sophomore offering, I-Optikon, was produced by Anselmo (Down, Pantera, Scour, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, Arson Anthem etc.) and Stephen Berrigan (Down, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, Eyehategod, Haarp, Classhole, etc.), and features the debut appearances of recently recruited second guitarist Gianluca Ferro who’s collaborated with Andy Timmons, Kiko Loureiro, Guthrie Govan, Jeff Loomis and more. Fans of Meshuggah, Crisis, Starkweather and general planetary demise, pay heed.
I-Optikon will see release on Housecore Records on December 2nd, 2016.

In the meantime, brave souls are encouraged to check out the title track, streaming at THIS LOCATION.
Offers the band, “‘I Optikon’ is about perspectives. What we see is not that different from a mere opinion; the world is nothing more than our perspective of it. Eventually you realize that you’re not just a slave anymore, you are witnessing the whole.”
I-Optikon Track Listing:
1. I Optikon
2. Sinomi
3. Disintegrate
4. Mud
5. Fleshworms
6. Fong
7. Absense
8. The White Sun

Stalk SYK



One thought on “SYK- Italian Based Prog Metal Shares A Brutal Tune

  1. Pingback: SYK- Italian Avant Extreme Metal Explains How It all Began, and Housecore Records Amazing Work While Mixing I-Optikon. |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s